AKVH Films

Organising group

akvhfilms@gmail.com

Friday Nights are Film Nights

Film shows at AKVH are back.
Doors open at 7pm with the films starting at 7.30pm.
Bar selling beer, wine and soft drinks. Ice creams on sale.
Tickets (£5) from 01299 824318
or by email akvhfilms@gmail.com
or from Friends coffee mornings, AK WI or Friendship Group
or Pay on the Door.

Coming up

NOTE _ February film show is on SATURDAY

Saturday 10th February – La La Land (PG) starring Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone.

While navigating their careers in Los Angeles, a pianist and an actress fall in love while attempting to reconcile their aspirations for the future.

Friday 23rd March – Victoria and Abdul (PG) starring Judi Dench, Ali Fazal and Tim Piggott-Smith

Abdul Karim arrives from India to participate in Queen Victoria’s golden jubilee. The young clerk is surprised to find favor with the queen herself. As Victoria questions the constrictions of her long-held position, the two forge an unlikely and devoted alliance that her household and inner circle try to destroy. As their friendship deepens, the queen begins to see a changing world through new eyes, joyfully reclaiming her humanity.

Friday 20th April – Moulin Rouge (PG) starring Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor

A poet falls for a beautiful courtesan whom a jealous duke covets.

Friday 11th May – Little Miss Sunshine starring Steve Carell, Toni Collette and Greg Kinnear

A family determined to get their young daughter into the finals of a beauty pageant take a cross-country trip in their VW bus.

Friday 15th June – A Good Year (12) starring Russell Crowe and Marion Cotillard

Comedy about a London-based investment banker who relocates to Provence in hopes of selling a small vineyard he has inherited from his recently-deceased uncle. However, he discovers the vineyard in a crumbling state of disrepair, and his troubles are further compounded by the stubbornness of a gruff estate winemaker and the unexpected arrival of a determined Californian woman named Christie who presents herself as a long-lost cousin while making a dubious claim to the estate.

Friday 20th July – Shakespeare in Love (15) starring Gwyneth Paltrow and Joseph Fiennes

Romantic comedy about young Will Shakespeare, an up and coming playwright, who is suffering from writer’s block. His comedy ‘Romeo and Ethel the Pirate’s Daughter’ is not going anywhere and the playhouse is under threat of closure. What Will needs a muse who appears in the form of the beautiful (and betrothed) Lady Viola, but the path of true love doesn’t run smoothly for Will.

Friday 24th August

Friday 14th Sept

Friday 19th Oct

Friday 16th Nov

Friday 14th Dec

Previous screenings

2018

Saturday 20th January – Sunshine on Leith (PG) starring Jason Flemyng and Peter Mullan.

2017

Friday 15th December – It’s a wonderful life starring James Stewart and Donna Reed (1946)

Friday 17th November – Golden Years Grand Theft OAP (12A) Starring Alun Armstrong, Simon Callow, Phil Davis and Bernard Hill

Friday 27th October – Lion (PG) starring Dev Patel and Nicole Kidman

Friday 15th September – Calendar Girls (12) Starring Helen Mirren and Julie Walters

Friday 28th July – Florence Foster Jenkins (PG) Starring Meryl Streep, Hugh Grant and Simon Helberg

Friday 16th June – What we did on our holiday (12) Starring Billy Connolly, Ben Miller, Rosamund Pike and David Tennant

Friday 19th May – War Horse (12) Directed by Steven Spielberg starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Tom Hiddleston

Comments are closed.